Blu Dot Wins 2018 National Design Award

The Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Museum has awarded Blu Dot with their 2018 National Design Award for Product Design. The winning submission featured several pieces of furniture, selected to win by an interdisciplinary jury. Each winner is chosen because they “celebrate design as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world, and seeks to increase national awareness of the impact of design through education initiatives.” Past winners of the Product Design category include Herman Miller, Eva Zeisel, Diller Scofidio + Renfro Architects and Jonathan Ive.

Blu Dot is a design studio based in Minneapolis, created by three friends – two architects and a sculptor. The founders, Maurice Blanks and John Christakos, wanted to create furniture pieces that would stand the test of time, as well as be stylish and affordable.

Here’s a look at some of the pieces that Blu Dot submitted to Cooper Hewitt:

Toro Chair and Ottoman

Modu-Licious Collection

Modular and delicious since 1999. Modu-licious Collection.

A post shared by Blu Dot (@bludot) on

Hot Mesh Collection

Put a bird on it. #HotMeshCollection

A post shared by Blu Dot (@bludot) on

Real Good Chair

Field Lounge Chair

Blu Dot has been reviewed by several renowned design critics, including Marissa Bartolucci, who characterized the company’s work this way: “With the inventive, can-do spirit that characterized the work of the Eameses, Blu Dot has resurrected the values of the Good Design movement and its popular potential. In the quiet void of the Great In-Between, these three designers, modest, thoughtful and wonderfully daring, have made design history.”

No posts to display